ISAKOS: 2019 Congress in Cancun, Mexico

Jan I. Gillquist Scientific Research Award


History of the Award

Jan Gillquist will be remembered as one of the greatest persons in the field of knee surgery and sports medicine. He was one of the pioneers of knee arthroscopy, and the first and only person, who became chairman of both the International Arthroscopy Association (IAA) in 1987-89 and the International Society of the Knee (ISK) in 1991-93. He organized the first combined meeting for the IAA and ISK in Copenhagen in 1993, which was the starting point for merging to form the current ISAKOS.

Jan was published extensively not only in arthroscopy, knee ligament injuries and sports medicine, but also other disciplines. He introduced a systematic step-by-step clinical scientific way of working. He was ahead of his time when it came to understanding the need for a systematic approach to follow-up, which stimulated the development of the Lysholm knee score and the Tegner activity rating scale, both of which are still used worldwide more than 30 years after they were first presented.

According to Jan, “Everything was possible and nothing impossible to question.” His passion was good science, correct science, and he was never afraid of sharp and critical questions; everything should be questioned and systematically studied.

Past Winners

Purpose of the Award

ISAKOS will remember Jan Gillquist with a Research Award, created with the intention to stimulate and reward abstracts and presentations in the subject of Scientific Research.

Application Requirements

To be considered for the Scientific Research Award, applicants must first submit an abstract related to scientific research for the ISAKOS Congress followed by the online award application. Applicants are required to provide their curriculum vitae, and agree to provide a manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria if selected as a finalist.

Abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2018.

Review Process

All applications submitted for the Scientific Research Award will be reviewed by members of the ISAKOS Scientific Committee. Four finalists will be chosen based upon the quality of the abstract. The four finalists will be invited to present at the ISAKOS Congress and must submit a manuscript Journal of ISAKOS criteria by the deadline given. The finalists’ presentations at the ISAKOS Congress will be judged using a 40 point scoring system based on the quality of the manuscript (10 points), the concept originality and importance (10 points), experimental design and execution (10 points) and clarity of the presentation (10 points).


Registration to the ISAKOS Congress will be waived for the four finalists. The first and second place winners will be announced at the ISAKOS Congress, and presented with a framed certificate and an honorarium. The first place presentation will receive US $2,000 with the second place presentation receiving US $1,500. Both first and second place manuscripts will be submitted for possible publication in Journal of ISAKOS.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one award per Congress, per abstract. ISAKOS award recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will waived.