The ISAKOS Young Investigator's Scholarship &
Research Mentoring Program

Purpose of the Award

The ISAKOS Young Investigator’s Scholarship and Research Mentoring Program was developed by the ISAKOS Scientific Committee as a mentor-mentee program for young investigators from developing countries with limited access to research resources. The Young Investigator Program seeks to assist young surgeons advance research by awarding a fellowship at an ISAKOS recognized research facility and funding an ISAKOS approved mentorship.

Past Finalists & Winners


Purevdorj Avirmed, MD MONGOLIA
Nitin Bansal, Prof. INDIA
Artit Boonrod, MD THAILAND (Winner)
Umesha Chowdaiah, MBBS, DOrtho, DNB(Orth) INDIA
Ujjval Hareshbhaid Deliwala, MS(Orth) INDIA
Francisco Figueroa, MD CHILE
Siddalingeshwara G.I., MS(Orth) INDIA
Syed Faraz Ul Hassan Shah Gillani, MBBS PAKISTAN
Varun Gupta, MS(Orth) INDIA
Theodorakys Marín, MD VENEZUELA (Winner)
Mikhail Ryazantsev, MD, PhD RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Sukesh Rao Sankineani, MS(Orth) INDIA
Kiran K. Shah, MD CHINA
Prasad Soraganvi, MBBS, MS, DNB, MRCS INDIA
Onur Nazim Tan, MD TURKEY


Vineet Thomas Abraham, MBBS, MS Orthopaedics, INDIA
Taofeek O. Adeyemi, MD, MBA, Diploma Ortho, FMC Ortho, NIGERIA
Fabio V. Arilla, MD, BRAZIL
Levan Chikvatia, MD. PhD candidate, GEORGIA
Oscar Antonio Colmenares, MD, VENEZUELA
Fernando Antonio Fernández, MD, MEXICO
Crissth Paul Gonzales Alvarez, MD, PERU
Jean Michel Hovsepian, MD, VENEZUELA
Robi Kelc, MD, PhD, SLOVENIA
Hong Li, MD, CHINA
Juan Pablo Martinez, MD, MSc, COLOMBIA (Winner)
Mohamed Ahmed Salem Mohamed, MBBC, EGYPT
Joao Pedro Moreira De Oliveira, MD, PhD Student, PORTUGAL
Saroj Rai, MD, NEPAL (Winner)
Andriy Rublenko, PhD, UKRAINE
Bharat Sharma, DNB (Ortho), DOrth (JIPMER), INDIA
Dong Liang Shi, MD, PhD, CHINA
Trifon Totlis, MD, PhD, GREECE
Guilherme Henrique Vieira Lima, MD, BRAZIL


Weili Fu, PhD, CHINA
Jiong Jiong Guo, MD, PhD, CHINA
Deepak N. Bhatia, MS(Orth), DNB(Orth), INDIA
Tiago Lazzaretti Fernandes, MD, MSc, PhD, BRAZIL
Sunday Onimisi Salami, MBBS, FWACS, NIGERIA
Ahmed Abdelwahab Elsheikh, MD, EGYPT

Program Summary

The ISAKOS Young Investigator’s Program is a two part program:
Part I: Up to twenty (20) scholarship recipients will receive a US $1,500 stipend to support their travel and participation at the 13th Biennial ISAKOS Congress in Cape Town, South Africa. In Cape Town, awardees will attend a research symposium where four program finalists will present their research. Registration fees for the 13th Biennial ISAKOS Congress will be waived for scholarship recipients.

Part II: The four finalists will be interviewed by the ISAKOS Scientific Committee at the Congress-- two winners will then be selected. Each winner will receive a US $10,000 stipend to complete a research project along with the guidance of a research mentor (determined by the researcher and ISAKOS Scientific Committee). Research must be completed within the assigned term, and regular reports will be required as research progresses.

Application Requirements

This opportunity will be available on a competitive basis to orthopaedic surgeons between the ages of 30 and 40 years, from developing countries (World Bank List of Developing Countries), interested in the study and advancement of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine.

Applicants are required to submit a summary of their research project (250 words or less). Two short essays outlining their Intention for Research and Future Opportunities (250 words or less) should also be submitted along with a curriculum vitae. The first short essay must indicate interest in research and reasons for applying for the mentorship program. The second short essay should indicate academic goals and teaching opportunities. Please ensure submitted CVs include orthopaedic training, fellowships, publications and awards.

All applications must be submitted by January 15, 2021.

Review Process

For part I, applications will be reviewed and scholarship recipients will be selected by representatives of the ISAKOS Scientific Committee. Awardees will be chosen from areas of limited economic needs, by the quality and inspiration of their projects and by the potential impact of their research.

For part II, applications will be reviewed and scholarship recipients will be selected by representatives of the ISAKOS Scientific Committee at the ISAKOS Congress in Cape Town.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one fellowship per Congress. ISAKOS fellowship recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will be waived.

International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine

2415 San Ramon Valley Blvd., Suite 4374
San Ramon, CA, USA 94583
Tel: +1 925.807.1197 • Fax: +1 925.807.1199