2025 ISAKOS Congress in Munich, Germany

Jan I. Gillquist Scientific Research Award

History of the Award

Jan Gillquist will be remembered as one of the greatest persons in the field of knee surgery and sports medicine. He was one of the pioneers of knee arthroscopy, and the first and only person, who became chairman of both the International Arthroscopy Association (IAA) in 1987-89 and the International Society of the Knee (ISK) in 1991-93. He organized the first combined meeting for the IAA and ISK in Copenhagen in 1993, which was the starting point for merging to form the current ISAKOS.

Jan was published extensively not only in arthroscopy, knee ligament injuries and sports medicine, but also other disciplines. He introduced a systematic step-by-step clinical scientific way of working. He was ahead of his time when it came to understanding the need for a systematic approach to follow-up, which stimulated the development of the Lysholm knee score and the Tegner activity rating scale, both of which are still used worldwide more than 30 years after they were first presented.

According to Jan, “Everything was possible and nothing impossible to question.” His passion was good science, correct science, and he was never afraid of sharp and critical questions; everything should be questioned and systematically studied.

Past Winners

2023 Boston, UNITED STATES

First Place
Isolated Meniscus Allograft Transplantation Effectively Reduces Knee Laxity In the Presence of Previous Meniscectomy: In-Vivo Navigation of 18 Consecutive Cases
Alberto Grassi, PhD, ITALY
View Highlight

Second Place
Intra-Articular Vancomycin-Concentrations In Synovial Fluid Do Not Reach Chondrotoxic Thresholds Following Vancomycin-Soaking Of Autologous Soft Tissue Grafts For Anterior-Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction
Thomas R. Pfeiffer, Prof., GERMANY

2021 Global Congress

First Place
Predicting Subjective Failure of ACL Reconstruction: A Machine Learning Analysis of the Norwegian Knee Ligament Register and Patient Reported Outcomes

Second Place
Increasing the Posterior Tibial Slope Results in Decreased In Situ Forces in the ACL
Philipp W. Winkler, MD, GERMANY

2019 Cancun, MEXICO

First Place
Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction with or without a Lateral Extra-Articular Tenodesis: Analysis of Complications from the ISAKOS-Sponsored Stability Study
Mark A. Heard, MD, FRCS CANADA

Second Place
The Effect of Anterolateral Procedures on Contact Pressures in the Lateral Compartment of the Knee
Thomas Neri, MD, PhD, Asst. Prof. FRANCE

2017 Shanghai, CHINA

First Place
Aggravated Rotational Laxity Due To The Concomitant Meniscus Tear In The Anterior Cruciate Ligament-Injured Knees Detected By The Quantitative Measurement Of The Pivot-Shift Test
Yuichi Hoshino, MD, PhD JAPAN

Second Place
The Role of Calcaneofibular Ligament (CFL) Injury in Ankle Instability: Implications for Surgical Management

2015 Lyon, FRANCE

First Place
In Situ Analysis of Anterior Cruciate Ligament Shape and Morphology
Eric Thorhauer, BS USA

Second Place
15 Year Survival of Endoscopic Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction in Children and Adolescents

2013 Toronto, CANADA

First Place
Endoscopic Transphyseal Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction in Children Using Live Donor Hamstring Tendon Allograft

Second Place
A Standardized Pivot Shift Test and Newly Developed iPad Application Can Quantify ACL Injury in Patients
Volker Musahl, MD USA

2011 Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL

First Place
Screening for Femoroacetabular Impingement in Asymptomatic Adolescent Athletes
Bruce A. Levy, MD USA

Second Place
Platelet Rich Plasma (PRP) in Arthroscopic Rotator Cuff Repair: A Prospective RCT Study, 2 years Follow-Up
Pietro Randelli, MD ITALY

2009 Osaka, JAPAN

First Place
In Vivo Response of Human Tenocytes to Extra‐Cellular Matrix Patches used for Rotator Cuff Repair
Kevin P. Shea, MD USA

Purpose of the Award

ISAKOS will remember Jan Gillquist with a Research Award, created with the intention to stimulate and reward abstracts and presentations in the subject of Scientific Research.

Application Requirements

To be considered for the Scientific Research Award, applicants must first submit an abstract related to scientific research for the ISAKOS Congress followed by the online award application. Applicants are required to provide their curriculum vitae, and agree to provide a manuscript following the Journal of ISAKOS criteria if selected as a finalist.

Abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2024.

Review Process

All abstracts submitted for the Jan I. Gillquist Scientific Research Award will be reviewed by members of the ISAKOS Scientific Committee. Four finalists will be chosen based upon the quality of the abstract. The four finalists will be invited to submit a blinded and unblinded manuscript prior to the ISAKOS Congress and must follow the Journal of ISAKOS criteria by the deadline given. The finalists’ manuscript will be judged using a 30 point scoring system based on the quality of the abstract (10 points), the concept originality and importance (10 points), experimental design and execution (10 points). The finalists will also be invited to present at the Congress in the award session.


Registration to the ISAKOS Congress will be waived for the four finalists. The first and second place winners will be announced at the ISAKOS Congress, and presented with a framed certificate and an honorarium. The first place presentation will receive US $2,000 with the second place presentation receiving US $1,500. Both first and second place manuscripts will be submitted for possible publication in Journal of ISAKOS.

Note: Individuals are only permitted to receive one award per Congress, per abstract. ISAKOS award recipients, if not already an ISAKOS Member, are required to become an ISAKOS Member prior to receiving their award. One year of Membership dues will waived.