View ISAKOS Fellowships

The ISAKOS Fellowship and Awards Program is committed to recognizing and honoring researchers whose work has contributed to better understanding and communication within the fields of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine.

Applicants, please note: Presenting authors are allowed one submission per award. Additionally, each abstract may only be applied to one of the following awards. To be considered for an Award or Fellowship, abstracts and award applications must be submitted before September 10, 2014. Individuals are only permitted to receive one award or fellowship per Congress.

John J. Joyce

John J. Joyce Award

Sponsored by Smith & Nephew Inc.

In 1981, Dr. John J. Joyce III offered a monetary prize for the best arthroscopy paper read by an orthopaedic surgery resident or fellow during the Scientific Program of the 4th Congress of the International Arthroscopy Association in Rio de Janeiro. With characteristic generosity, he endowed a prize to be awarded at every IAA Congress thereafter. John Joyce created the award with the intention to stimulate and reward younger members who contribute high-quality data and presentations. Thus, orthopaedic residents and fellows, with a study related to arthroscopic treatment are encouraged to apply for this award.

Richard B. Caspari

Richard B. Caspari Award

Richard B. Caspari was an innovator, teacher and leader in the field of Arthroscopy. Beginning at the 2003 ISAKOS Congress in Auckland, New Zealand, a monetary prize in honor of Richard B. Caspari was awarded to the best upper extremity paper read at the scientific program of the congress. The Richard B. Caspari award was established with the intention of stimulating and rewarding abstracts and presentations in the subject of the upper extremity.

Scientific Research Award

Sponsored by Ossur

The Scientific Research Award began at the 2007 ISAKOS Congress in Florence, Italy. There, a monetary prize was awarded to the best scientific paper read at the scientific program of the congress. The Scientific Research Award was created with the intention to stimulate and rewarding abstracts and presentations in the subject of Scientific Research.

Albert Trillat

Albert Trillat Young Investigator's Award

Sponsored by Stryker

In 1989, The International Society of the Knee established a Young Investigator’s Research Award in memory of Professor Albert Trillat. Past president and founder of the International Society of the Knee, Professor Albert Trillat was one of the pioneers in knee surgery and sports traumatology. This award provides recognition for a young researcher who has done outstanding clinical laboratory research contributing to the understanding, care or prevention of injuries to the knee.

Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award

Sponsored by DJO, Inc.

The Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award was created in 1995 to recognize the researchers(s) who have performed the most outstanding clinical or laboratory research in the field of sports medicine, such as the care and prevention of injuries.

Patellofemoral Research Excellence Award

Sponsored by The Patellofemoral Foundation, Inc.

The Patellofemoral Research Excellence award was conceived in 2005 by the Patellofemoral Foundation and ISAKOS to encourage outstanding research leading to improved understanding, prevention and treatment of patellofemoral pain or instability.