2017 ISAKOS Biennial Congress Faculty


Daniel C. Wascher, MD

University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Dr. Wascher specializes in orthopaedic sports medicine injuries with an emphasis on knees and shoulders. He also performs total knee and total shoulder arthroplasty. Dr. Wascher completed his medical education at St. Louis University and went on to do an internship in internal medicine and in general surgery at Loyola University in Chicago. He went on to complete an orthopaedic residency at the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York. Following his residency, he completed a fellowship in orthopaedic sports medicine at UCLA. He began practicing orthopaedic surgery in the Department of Orthopaedics sports medicine division here at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine in1991. The focus of his medical practice is on sports injuries, knee and shoulder injuries, and knee and shoulder replacements He is a team physician with the University of New Mexico varsity athletic teams and director of the Sports Medicine Division fellowship. Dr. Wascher is an active member of the AAOS, the AOSSM, and the International Association of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine. He participated in the AOSSM Traveling Fellowship where he went to Australia and New Zealand and has hosted the AOSSM Latin American Traveling Fellowship visit to the University of New Mexico. He is an active member of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgeons and participates as a board examiner. Dr. Wascher is on the editorial board of The American Journal of Sports Medicine and The Journal of Knee Surgery.

Knee - PCL/Collateral ligaments/Multiligament injuries
A Biomechanical Comparison of Arciero and Laprade Techniques for Knee Posterolateral Corner Reconstruction
Presenting Author


Support received from Arthrex
Royalties or support received from Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine
Editorial or Governing board of Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Journal of Knee Surgery
Board of Directors member for ISAKOS